Wisdom Books

The Wisdom Books are five books in the middle of the Old Testament. They are also known as the Poetic Books or the Sapiential Books.

These books are filled with poetry, songs, prayers, words of wisdom, and beautifully written literature that evoke all sorts of emotions. They stand in stark contrast to the Torah and Historical Books that precede them in the Old Testament, and their style falls into a genre of literature that was common to the ancient Near East known as wisdom literature.