Major Prophets

The Major Prophets are a collection of five books of prophecy, called Major because the books are longer than those of the Minor Prophets. The collection starts with quite dark and sobering messages of impending judgment, then a series of laments about the judgment that has occurred, and finishes with some messages of hope and the promise of restoration.

Dates of ministry

The books are almost in chronological order:

8th and 7th century BC
Early-6th century BC
Mid-6th century BC