The Torah is the first five books of the Old Testament. It’s also known as The Pentateuch or The Law. It starts in Genesis with the creation of the world and the beginnings of human life. God establishes his people through Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, and their descendants become known as the Israelites.

Genesis and Exodus contain some of the most famous stories in the Bible, such as Adam & Eve, Cain & Abel, Noah & The Flood, Abraham & Isaac, Jacob & Esau, Joseph’s coat of many colours, and Moses & the Ten Commandments.

Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy cover God’s instructions to his chosen people, their subsequent disobedience and banishment to the wilderness, and Moses’ words to them as they finally prepare to enter the Promised Land.